Can Social Work Unplug From The Matrix Without Dying?

Coming up with topics for social work from an unplugged perspective is quite a challenge. About all I can do at this point is continue to rephrase questions and issues, but that does not seem to bear a lot of fruit. As much as people claim to want their freedom, it continues to amaze me how many reserve such sentiments for their own likes and projects, yet do not hesitate to call in “authorities” (public servants, remember) to go after those they disagree with, do not like, or in any other way see as having slighted someone in some way.

Now and again I get my hopes up when it seems that the social work profession is waking up to the reality of the depth of government corruption, only to be reminded moments later that such is not the case, as I am implored to vote for a certain candidate, or sign a petition, or in some way beg the government to pay me better, or to up their efforts to recognize the importance of social work by sending money “our” way, that was stolen from other citizens.

Such continues to be some of the thoughts that go through my mind over and over, every day. Part of my efforts both in real life and online have been to try at least to raise awareness of social work and liberty. Social workers tend to see themselves as being on the good side, yet libertarians and anarchists tend to see them as voluntary agents for the state, which does seem to be the case.

In short: As I have noted, the field of social work is enmeshed with government, and relies on them for support from nearly every angle. Perhaps this fact is what stirs up so much resistance from my peers? I am not sure.

That’s it really… more of a check-in, than anything, re: frustration.

As for me: It’s been just a bit over two months since the heart attack. I am feeling pretty good, and I have been able to get out for some walks. More on the way. Just getting my body used to moving so much again has been a chore. I went right from recovering from a broken neck, and paralysis in my right arm, and smack into congestive heart failure. I am just trying to stay calm long enough to get myself together and make a plan.

A few weeks ago, one of the guests at the warming center where I volunteered/worked during the winter, died from liver failure. We had a small memorial for her in the park. It was a shock, as I had seen her the last night that the center was open – she and several others made a special trip down from their motel room to wish me well (I missed the last week, due to being in the hospital). She was a really cool person, and had rented the room for those at the center to shower, and sleep. Being as it was the last night the center was open, it seemed also a way to say goodbye, first.

Other friends that I made at the warming center are keeping tabs on many of the others, and I have had the chance to spend time with some of them, as the town is small enough that a walk in a park is guaranteed to result in “chance” meetings.

Otherwise, it is cliches: one day at at a time, darkest before the dawn, and blah, blah.

Coming up, perhaps:

Cannabis Oil and health?

TBC …

Bear Hugs until my attitude changes. heheheeeeeee

P.S.: Happy spring! I figured I had best say it now, ’cause when I got around to it last week, right after I posted my greeting, I noticed there had just been tornadoes ripping through people’s homes. Not good. I’d say to stay out of tornado alley, but I live within sight of a dormant volcano, so whatever.

Peace

Austin Park 4-28-2014