December 1: World AIDS Fraud Day

Compelled as always to say something, yet feeling the years of watching friends and clients get sick, just a few words, for now.

On November 30, 2009, I lost my best friend, Dan Davis, to pancreatic cancer, as a result of treatment for HIV.  Fifteen years prior to that, he lost his partner, on December 2nd.

The reason I say I offer just a few words is because of all of the time and energies I put in to detailing his diagnosis and death in a blog on a private site, over the course of a couple of years. Unfortunately, it was deleted. “It took so long to bake it, and I’ll never have that recipe again”…

What is worth noting this year – what has changed – is my awareness that the cause of AIDS seems to be a mystery, and to borrow the words of George Carlin: Nobody seems to notice. Nobody seems to care. Well, some are, or I would not have noticed, myself.

Tell a friend, or a loved one…

HIV, Cancer Research and Deception: A Case Manager Takes a Trip Through Wonderland

HIV Tests Do Not Test For Anything – Proof On Insert of Tests

Dan - 2006: Just prior to cancer diagnosis
Dan – 2006: Just prior to cancer diagnosis
Dan Davis & Donna Summer: Chicago, 2008
Dan Davis & Donna Summer: Chicago, 2008

 

Featured Image Link

