New Age Heretic’s Splinter In The Mind

The more you explain it, the more I don’t understand it. – Mark Twain

After a decade of persistent inquiry in to the New Age movement, as well as active participation in it, I became disillusioned by a simple truth that should have been obvious, sooner: There is every bit of the drama and politics in a New Age church as there is in any other religious institution.  After reflecting on the money trail and the manner in which so many New Age adherents are skilled with placing product commercials or endorsements in their every day conversation, I moved from disillusioned to downright suspicious: I could not see the value in it for me, nor most of the people I knew who were practicing it. A recent internet search confirmed my suspicions and provided me with a trove of information in regard to lies and conspiracies within TM and other New Age Philosophies that goes right to the top.

Having been raised in a rural area in Northern California that had nearly as many churches as people, I am no stranger to the experience of religion. I enjoyed many childhood summers, bouncing around vacation bible schools with several brands of Protestants. I was baptized twice. The first time I was 16 years old and the second time I was 20 years old. Taking the New Age path is regarded by many as simple evolution out here. I took that path and have since learned that it is not so innocent.

The discovery of this information came at a time when I was beginning to have doubts about people that I know who are New Age adherents. Many of them practice their mantras and rituals religiously, without seemingly gaining any new levels of insight, peace or stability. I am not saying that I am any more enlightened or happy than they are, but I have not spent countless hours chanting and meditating to get here.

It is tempting to go on. Before I do that and before I list the information I found, a couple of examples to highlight my concerns.

1. While attending a Center for Spiritual living, I became friends with someone who drank a lot of Diet-Pepsi. I was still drinking soda at that time and I commented on the health risks. The response: “I know it is really bad for me, so I am not thinking about it. I am keeping my thoughts at a higher vibration and if I talk about it, it will make it worse.”

Behind that statement was a tone of voice that said, “Do not challenge my logic because that would be an attack of my beliefs.” I heard that before.

2. I have friends who have been trying to get me to meditate. No matter what I say in regard to the subject, they insist that it is my path to enlightenment. When I challenge them on this, or do not play along, I am met with hostility. When I point out flaws in logic, I am told that I am being manipulative. However, the icing on the cake was when one of said friends was showing me a book about how to envision myself surrounded by the Merkabah shield.

Within the book of instructions on how to invoke the right thoughts and images to put the shield properly in place,  I noted some names of concern. One of them was Melchizedek. I pointed that out and I was dismissed, quickly: “Oh, I don’t pay attention to that part.” I dared not say it, but I was thinking that such reasoning is the same type of reasoning (or lack thereof) that people from other faiths use to justify believing one part of their sacred text, yet not another. They then seem compelled to force share their  beliefs and fragmented logic with others. If the information is not well-received, the messenger becomes distraught. More than once I have seen “Love and Light” turn in to “fuck you.” Non-believers are cast out, or their objections are ignored. The zealots press on.

Enter Bronte Baxter: A Splinter in the Mind: Blowing The Whistle on Enlightenment: Confessions of a New Age Heretic:

http://brontebaxter.wordpress.com

About

“Let me tell you why you’re here. You’re here because you know something. What you know you can’t explain, but you feel it. You’ve felt it your entire life, that there’s something wrong with the world. You don’t know what it is, but it’s there, like a splinter in your mind …”

~ Morpheus, in ‘The Matrix

This web log is for people with the splinter. It’s is a place to examine “what we know that we can’t explain” and start to make it explainable. Everything that promotes understanding what’s wrong and repairing it is fair topic for this blog. That includes examining what’s wrong and right with ourselves.

In the six months this blog has been in existence, its focus has tended to center around two things: phony spirituality and the New World Order agenda. There are lots of cult-awareness websites that deal with deceiving spiritual teachers, and lots of conspiracy websites that talk about the global fascist state our leaders are marching us toward, but there aren’t many websites that talk about how these two phenomena relate to each other.

This is one such website. Please feel free to join in with your comments, ideas and any related information.

ABOUT BRONTE BAXTER

Bronte Baxter practiced and taught Maharishi Mahesh Yogi’s Transcendental Meditation to hundreds of misled people for 17 years. Before that she was an idealistic hippie active in the back-to-the-land movement. She holds an M.A. in Eastern philosophy and religion, which doesn’t mean much to her but gives credence in some circles. Her favorite books are “The Power of Your Subconscious Mind,” by Joseph Murphy and “The Law and the Promise,” by Neville, both primers on New Thought philosophy and how to practice The Law of Attraction.

Video: Where Have All the Flower Children Gone? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R1U7RdZxuvM

I leave the reader to the gems of her work with the note that she points out how TM utilizes chants that invoke Hindu gods. These are powerful energies that serve to numb a person from the experience of being human (all energies are given to the deity). People are driven to convert others in order to get more energy to their gods. i.e. Please direct criticism of her statements toward her.

I am still in the process of learning more about what Baxter had to say, as well as following the YT and FB channel of the video poster. https://www.facebook.com/groups/487056594643751/?fref=ts

It is my hope that awareness is raised in regard to this matter. The truth is the truth and it is out there, but it seems we have been duped. I am not discarding everything, but I do wish to rid as many distortions as possible from my perception, without being tricked into distorting my perception in the process.

A hint at future posts re: spiritual connections and synchronicity:  Mahreshi Mahesh Yogi purchased the resort where I spent the first nine years of my life.

P.S.: This is from Dee Smith/Thyalwaysseek. Check it out. 🙂

CORRECT POSITION OF THE CHAKRA POINTS: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=loEUfJMkRJ4

Chakra